We store cookies on your device to make sure we give you the best experience on this website. I'm fine with this - Turn cookies off
Switch to an accessible version of this website which is easier to read. (requires cookies)

We are abolished

September 13, 2011 3:22 PM

Westminster Clock Tower Big Ben / Houses of Parliament [Photo: Emma Cooley]The Boundary Commission has published its proposals to reorganise constituency boundaries across the country. Overall the proposals will represent a fairer and more democratic system and get rid of built-in bias towards the Labour Party in England.

Wiltshire will retain its five constituencies, though the boundaries are changed significantly from the 2010 election, and we also overflow our boundaries into Dorset in order to make up the numbers. The South West Wiltshire constituency disappears. Most of it becomes the new "Warminster and Shaftesbury" seat, which also includes Westbury. It extends from West Lavington down as far as Bulbarrow in the depths of Dorset. Trowbridge finally gets a constituency named after it. The new "Trowbridge" seat will also include Bradford, Melksham, Box and Corsham. There will still be a constituency called "Chippenham", but the new version includes the town and all points north instead of extending south to Hilperton. Devizes and Salisbury seats are relatively similar to the current versions.

The proposals are now out for consultation, though it's unlikely there will be any significant changes in the final version.

Regular readers of this website do not need to panic - we will continue in operation until the boundaries are finalised.

The five new constituencies are:





Warminster and Shaftesbury.

To see details and maps go to: